Saturday, December 14th 2019                           

MODES TEAM

Modelling and Spectroscopy

Detailed topic: Light-(macro)molecules interactions :

Involved people  : Denis Jacquemin (Prof.), Adèle Laurent (CNRS Researcher), Daniel Escudero-Masa (Marie-Curie postdoctoral fellow), Ciro Guido (LUMOMAT postdoctoral fellow), Simon Budzak (Postdoctoral fellow), Gabriel Marchand (postdoctoral fellow), Anouar Belhboub (postdoctoral fellow), Kathy Chen (PhD student), Cloé Azarias (PhD student), Titouan Jaunet-Lahary (PhD student).

 

General overview

Within this research topic, the aim is to evaluate the electronic properties related to the excited states by not only interpreting the experimental data but also by predicting and optimizing the electronic properties of new compounds. Computational state-of-the-art methods are employed to simulate absorption and emission spectra of compounds in condensed phase or in heterogeneous complex environments (DNA, protein, guest-host …). Theoretical tools allow us to perform this work using diverse approaches going from quantum mechanics (QM) often based on the electronic density (TD-DFT, BSE) or on wavefunction (CIS, CIS(D), CC2, ADC( 2), CASSCF, EOM-CCSD…) to QM/MM hybrid methods combining QM and molecular mechanics (MM). This research theme is divided into three main axes involving (i) dyes, (ii) photochromes and (iii) biological systems.

Some recent reviews:

 

Axis-1 : Organic dyes

Organic dyes are a family of compounds of major industrial interest, particularly, for their "green" applications. Indeed, all efforts are recently putting to cleantech such as photovoltaic cells. The most scrutinized dyes are those absorbing in the infrared, with a large quantum yield, a high (photo) stability, ... Within this context, the group has the technology to model the absorption and emission spectra of these molecules in condensed phase taking into account the vibronic coupling (within the harmonic approximation). Such a methodology reproduce the experimental spectra and explain their shape. Therefore, variations in the optical spectra (shapes and positions) can be predicted for auxochromic substitutions, pH changes, solvatochromism and acidochromism effects... and new efficient dyes can be suggested to experiments.

Many varieties of dyes were investigated in the group, thus only recents studies are highlighted hereafter. This first axis includes (i) the study of cyanine derivatives (BODIPY, Aza-BODIPY, BORANIL…) being a theoretical challenge, (ii) understanding and characterization of the reactivity of porphyrin derivatives, and more specifically of the azacalixphyrine and (iii) the simulated dye properties exhibiting excited state intramolecular proton transfer (ESIPT). Note that the associated benchmark studies (choice of DFT functional, basic sets, solvent model, methodology...) to define an efficient protocol characterizing the excited states (vibronic spectra, vertical transitions, solvent effects) are in the Methodological Developments theme (Axis-2)

Significant articles:
(i) A.M. Grabarz, et al. , J. Org. Chem. 2016, 81 , 2280–2292.
P. Boulanger et al. , J. Chem. Theory Comput. 2014, 10 , 4548–56 .
S. Chibani et al. , Chem. Sci. 2013, 4 , 1950-63 .

(ii) G. Marchand, et al. , Phys. Chem. Chem. Phys. 2016, 18 , 9608-9615.
G. Marchand et al. , Phys. Chem. Chem. Phys. 2015, 17 , 5290–5297 ,
H. Audi et al. , Chem. Commun. 2014, 50 , 15140-43 .

(iii) Simon Budzak, Denis Jacquemin, J. Phys. Chem.B , 2016, 120 , 6730-6738.
C. Azarias, et al. , Chem. Sci . 2016, 7 , 3763-3774.
K. Benelhadj et al. , Chem. Eur. J. 2014, 20 , 1-16 .
P. Hubin et al. , Phys. Chem. Chem. Phys. 2014, 16 , 25288–95 .

 

Axis-2 : Photochromes

A photochrome is a molecule which can be present in two forms (closed/open, cis / trans …), the transformation from one form to another is thermally or photochemically induced via the absorption of radiation energy or of distinct wavelengths (UV, visible or infrared). Such a photochromic reaction is reversible between the two molecular states that are characterized by their own electronic properties and, thus, highly different optical properties. Organic photochromes offer undeniable potential for their use in the transmission and storage of a bit of data (0 or 1) using the optical or electronic way. .

Our objectives are (i) to improve photochromic compounds maximizing the linear and non-linear optical properties of the two electronic states, (ii) to evaluate their fatigue resistance through the exploration of the reactivity forming non-photochromic by-products, (iii) to simulate the electronic properties of multi-photochromes (molecular entity containing two or more photochromes) for increasing the amount of stored data (iv) to model the interactions between a (multi-)photochrome(s) and a semiconductor surface (NiO, TiO2, Cu, ...) as well as their electronic properties. Such a work is carried out with (TD-)DFT or multi-reference methods and considered periodic boundary conditions for surface calculations.

Publications de référence :
(i) K. J. Chen et al. , J. Phys Chem C 2014, 118 , 4334-45 .      
T. Jaunet-Lahary et al. , J. Phys Chem C 2014, 18 , 28831-84

(ii) D. Mendive-Tapia et al. , Phys. Chem. Chem. Phys. 2014, 16 , 18463–71

(iii) A. Fihey, D. Jacquemin Chem. Sci. 2015, 6 , 3495-3503
A. Fihey, A. Perrier, W. R. Browne, D. Jacquemin, Chem. Soc. Rev. 2015, 44 , 3719-3759 .     
 B. Lasorne et al. Chem. Sci. 2015 6 , 5695-5702.     
 A. Perrier, F. Maurel, D. Jacquemin Acc. Chem. Res. 2012, 45 , 1173–82 .

(iv) K. J Chen et al. J. Mater. Chem. A 2016, 4 , 2217-2227 .     
K. J. Chen, F. Boucher, D. Jacquemin J. Phys. Chem. C 2015, 119 , 16860-16869 ,.     
K. J. Chen et al. , J. Phys Chem C 2015,
119 , 3684 -3696.    
  A. Fihey, B. Le Guennic, D. Jacquemin, J. Phys. Chem. Lett. 2015, 6 , 3067-3073.

 

Axis-3: Biological systems

It consists in the modeling of macromolecules that are naturally or artificially fluorescent using complementary approaches, combining docking, molecular modeling, QM/MM and QM/QM' hybrid methods to characterize their spectral properties. These two categories of fluorescent macromolecules are used extensively in the framework of medical imaging but also in biology for the detection of disease or abnormality. Naturally fluorescent macromolecules intrinsically contain a chromophore while artificial ones are modified by site-directed mutagenesis by introducing a molecular probe (or marker) instead of an amino acid into the protein of interest. The spectral changes induced by the presence or absence of a ligand/drug within a macromolecules allow to get a very local information about the position of the ligand.

The objectives of this axis are (i) to extend the color palette of naturally fluorescent proteins by offering new chromophores or new mutations within the photoactive site and (ii) determine the therapeutic protein of interest position a ligand or drug in order to modulate its activity and, in close collaboration with experimental groups.

.

Mercredi 21 Octobre 2020                           

EQUIPE MODES

Modélisation Et Spectroscopie

Thème développé :Interactions lumière-(macro)molécules :

 

Personnes impliquées  : Denis Jacquemin (PR), Adèle Laurent (CR), Daniel Escudero-Masa (post-doctorant Marie-Curie), Ciro Guido (post-doctorant LUMOMAT), Simon Budzak (post-doctorant), Gabriel Marchand (post-doctorant), Anouar Belhboub (post-doctorant), , Kathy Chen (doctorante), Titouan Jaunet-Lahary (doctorant), Cloé Azarias (doctorante).

 

Présentation générale

Dans le cadre de cette thématique, l'objectif est de simuler les propriétés liées aux états électroniques excités en vue, non seulement, d'interpréter les données expérimentales mais aussi de prédire et d'optimiser les caractéristiques de nouveaux composés. L'état de l'art est employé pour simuler les spectres d'absorption et d'émission des composés en phase condensée ou dans un environnement complexe hétérogène (ADN, protéine, cage ). Les outils théoriques nous permettant de réaliser ces travaux sont très diversifiés allant des méthodes quantiques (QM) le plus souvent basées sur la densité électronique (TD-DFT, BSE) ou basée sur la fonction d'onde (CIS, CIS(D), CC2, ADC(2), CASSCF, EOM-CCSD,…) à des méthodes hybrides alliant la mécanique quantique et la mécanique moléculaire (QM/MM). Trois axes sont ainsi définis (i) colorants, (ii) photochromes et (iii) systèmes biologiques

Quelques revues récentes:

 

Axe-1 : Colorants organiques

Les colorants organiques sont une famille de composés d'important intérêt industriel pour les applications « vertes ». En effet, tous les efforts sont portés ces derniers temps vers les technologies propres telles que les cellules photovoltaïques. Les colorants les plus recherchés sont ceux qui absorbent dans l'infra-rouge, qui possèdent un grand rendement quantique, une grande (photo)stabilité, … Dans ce cadre le groupe possède la technologie pour modéliser les spectres d'absorption et d'émission de ces molécules en phase condensée en prenant en compte le couplage vibronique (dans les limites de l'approximation harmonique). La méthodologie utilisée permet de reproduire les données expérimentales et de les expliquer. Il est dès lors possible de prédire les variations des spectres optiques (formes et positions) lors de substitutions auxochromiques, variations de pH, effets de solvatochromisme et d'acidochromisme ... et donc de proposer de nouveaux colorants efficaces aux expérimentateurs.

Nombreuses variétés de colorants ont été étudiées dans cette thématique, dès lors seuls les sujets récents sont mis en évidence ici. Cet axe comprend notamment (i) l'étude de dérivés cyanines (BODIPY, Aza-BODIPY, BORANIL, ...) qui constitue un défi théorique, (ii) la compréhension et la caractérisation de la réactivité des dérivés de la porphyrine, et plus précisément de l'azacalixphyrine et (iii) la simulation des propriétés de colorants exhibant un transfert de proton intramoléculaire à l'état excité (ESIPT). A noter que les études de banc d'essai (choix de la fonctionnelle en DFT, de la base de fonctions atomiques, du modèle de solvant, de la méthode,...) permettant de définir un protocole afin caractériser les états excités (spectres vibroniques et transitions verticales) se trouvent dans la thématique Développements méthodologiques (Axe-2)

Publications de référence :
(i) A.M. Grabarz, et al. , J. Org. Chem. 2016, 81 , 2280–2292.
P. Boulanger et al. , J. Chem. Theory Comput. 2014, 10 , 4548–56 .
S. Chibani et al. , Chem. Sci. 2013, 4 , 1950-63 .

(ii) G. Marchand, et al. , Phys. Chem. Chem. Phys. 2016, 18 , 9608-9615.
G. Marchand et al. , Phys. Chem. Chem. Phys. 2015, 17 , 5290–5297 ,
H. Audi et al. , Chem. Commun. 2014, 50 , 15140-43 .

(iii) Simon Budzak, Denis Jacquemin, J. Phys. Chem.B , 2016, 120 , 6730-6738.
C. Azarias, et al. , Chem. Sci . 2016, 7 , 3763-3774.
K. Benelhadj et al. , Chem. Eur. J. 2014, 20 , 1-16 .
P. Hubin et al. , Phys. Chem. Chem. Phys. 2014, 16 , 25288–95 .

 

Axe-2 : Photochromes

Un photochrome est une molécule pouvant se présenter sous deux formes (fermée/ouverte, cis/trans,...), le passage d'une forme à l'autre étant induite thermiquement ou photochimiquement via l'absorption de radiations d'énergie (ou de longueurs d'onde différentes (UV, visible ou infra-rouge). Cette réaction photochromique est réversible entre les deux états moléculaires qui possèdent des propriétés électroniques et donc optiques très différentes. Les molécules photochromes organiques présentent des potentialités indéniables quant à leur utilisation dans la transmission et le stockage d'un bit de données (0 ou 1) par voie optique ou électronique.

Nos objectifs dans cet axe sont (i) d'améliorer les composés photochromiques en maximisant les propriétés d'optique linéaire et non-linéaire des deux états électroniques, (ii) d'évaluer leur résistance à la fatigue via l'exploration du mécanisme réactionnel formant les sous-produits non-photochromiques, (iii) de simuler les propriétés électroniques de multi-photochromes (entité moléculaire comprenant deux ou plusieurs photochromes) permettant d'augmenter la quantité de données stockée et (iv) de modéliser les interactions et les propriétés électroniques entre un (multi-)photochrome et une surface semi-conductrice (NiO, TiO2 , Cu,…). Ces travaux étant réalisés avec des méthodes (TD-)DFT ou multiréférences et incluant les conditions périodiques aux limites pour les calculs de surface.

Publications de référence :
(i) K. J. Chen et al. , J. Phys Chem C 2014, 118 , 4334-45 .      
T. Jaunet-Lahary et al. , J. Phys Chem C 2014, 18 , 28831-84

(ii) D. Mendive-Tapia et al. , Phys. Chem. Chem. Phys. 2014, 16 , 18463–71

(iii) A. Fihey, D. Jacquemin Chem. Sci. 2015, 6 , 3495-3503
A. Fihey, A. Perrier, W. R. Browne, D. Jacquemin, Chem. Soc. Rev. 2015, 44 , 3719-3759 .     
 B. Lasorne et al. Chem. Sci. 2015 6 , 5695-5702.     
 A. Perrier, F. Maurel, D. Jacquemin Acc. Chem. Res. 2012, 45 , 1173–82 .

(iv) K. J Chen et al. J. Mater. Chem. A 2016, 4 , 2217-2227 .     
K. J. Chen, F. Boucher, D. Jacquemin J. Phys. Chem. C 2015, 119 , 16860-16869 ,.     
K. J. Chen et al. , J. Phys Chem C 2015,
119 , 3684 -3696.    
  A. Fihey, B. Le Guennic, D. Jacquemin, J. Phys. Chem. Lett. 2015, 6 , 3067-3073.

Axe-3 : Systèmes biologiques

Il s'agit de modéliser des macromolécules qui sont naturellement ou artificiellement fluorescentes à l'aide d'approches complémentaires alliant le docking , la modélisation moléculaire, les méthodes hybrides QM/MM et QM/QM' afin de caractériser leurs propriétés spectrales. Ces deux catégories de macromolécules fluorescentes sont amplement utilisées en imagerie médicale mais aussi en biologie pour la détection de maladie ou anomalie. Les macromolécules naturellement fluorescentes comprennent intrinsèquement un chromophore alors que les artificielles sont modifiées par mutagénèse dirigée en introduisant une sonde (ou marqueur) moléculaire à la place d'un acide aminé dans une protéine d'intérêt. Les modifications spectrales induites par la présence ou non d'un ligand/médicament, de cette dernière permettent d'obtenir des informations de manière très locale sur la position du ligand.

Les objectifs de cet axe sont (i) d'étendre la palette de couleur de nouvelles protéines naturellement fluorescentes en proposant de nouveaux chromophores ou de nouvelles mutations au sein du site photoactif et (ii) de déterminer dans des protéines d'intérêts thérapeutiques la position d'un ligand ou médicament afin de pouvoir moduler son activité et ce, en étroite collaboration avec des groupes d'expérimentateurs.